PDA

View Full Version : Newbie needs help with thread cutting

TNance
05-19-2001, 01:07 PM
Please forgive if this inquiry sounds elementary, but I am new to metalworking and I am puzzled by some of the more basic skills. In particular, I have been having difficulty using a die to cut threads (6-32) on the end of a brass rod.
I turn the rod to the diameter specified on my tap and die chart and mount the die and get after it. I follow the technique of turning the die a full turn and the backing off a 1/2 turn. The result is a rod with threads, but only in the loosest sense of the word. They are wallowed out and a nut fits very loosely on the rod. I believe I have two problems. 1) starting the die exactly perpendicular to the work, and 2) turning the die so that it does not tip from side to side as it rotates.
Can someone give me some tips to overcoming these difficulties, or describe a jig that may help, or list a book that I might reference. I know this is MACH-101 and again I apologize if it is too rudimentary, but any help would be appreciated. One must walk before they can fly.

MikeHenry
05-19-2001, 08:20 PM
What type and brand of dies are you using?

The first die & tap set (cheap import) I bought was made of carbon steel and meant for touching up existing threads, rather than making new ones. Gave me no end of trouble until I started buying good quality dies. The better ones, for my purposes anyway, are split with a set screw to allow you to adjust the thread fit.

Mike Henry in Batavia, IL

JBELANGER
05-19-2001, 09:30 PM