PDA

View Full Version : Purchasing a Milling Machine

cycledoc
09-27-2001, 12:14 AM
This question has probably been asked many times before but I am new to the BB. The question focuses on the fact that I want to buy a milling machine and there are many choices. Does one look at a new machine from say Enco or Grizzley, a used machine such as from Bridgeport or the early Bridgeport foreign copies that were available from the 1980s on? I am not an expert and know that there must be inherent advantages and disadvantages for each choice. Some foreign things are of low quality and the only smart choice is to buy USA. Does that apply to milling machines? Any input and guidance will be appreciated. Thanks

Steve

Thrud
09-27-2001, 05:57 AM
Steve,

An old bridgeport or a reconditioned one is a very safe bet. Get the manuals for it as well. Quality you can count on. You could also convert it to ball screws for under $600 (no more backlash), add a DRO - or even CNC it for a few thou - now we are cookin'...

A new quality Knee Mill without CNC will cost as much as the American made Haas Tool Room CNC Mill ($20K+). All those scraped v-ways are expensive to make today.

Consider talking to a reputable New & Used Machinery Dealer (many have been listed on this bbs). And seriously consider checking it out in person before plunking down the beans.

SGW
09-27-2001, 08:41 AM
If you can fit it in your shop, yes -- a good used Bridgeport would be dandy. You ought to be able to find one in quite good shape for (probably) $3K to $4K, although I may be off there. As has been said before, Meridian Machinery (www.mermac.com, I think) has some tips for buying used machinery, and owner Dave Fricken has an excellent reputation. Check out what he has listed. There are certainly other reputable dealers too, and if you can find a local dealer it would sure be easier and cheaper than paying freight from Long Island if you live in Nebraska or California.