PDA

View Full Version : Mill Recommendation?

split63
04-07-2006, 03:48 PM
I'm looking to buy a verticle Mill, I'm not in a hurry so I'll wait for the right one to come along. But where to start?

I have used the big Knee Bridgeports and certainly they can do the job, though it may be a tad big. In general this is what I would want to see in a mill:

Power feeds all directions
230V Single or three phase
X,Y,Z digital position read-out.
Solid - Heavy
Variable Speed
Accurate, stays true
Supports or includes oil mister
one shot oiler/luber

I will buy used. It would be fantastic if it had Optional or standard computer control of some kind.

I also wonder if perhaps I should just forget this mill and shoot for a small CNC Mill. If there was a good quality, not-obsolete unit that makes sense for the home shop, then I would tend to lean this way. But I have no experience with these and I don't know what key things to look for.

Recommendations? ;)

thistle
04-07-2006, 04:12 PM
No need to be scared of 3 phase ,a VFD on the machine will cure the problem
of single to 3 phase , with some advantages.

my 2 cents

split63
04-07-2006, 04:26 PM
No need to be scared of 3 phase ,a VFD on the machine will cure the problem
of single to 3 phase , with some advantages.

my 2 cents
Hmmm, I had heard that these were available, but I jumped to the conclusion that they were horribly expensive. I did a quick search, and while they are expensive, they are not too bad.
http://www.driveswarehouse.com/Drives/AC+Drives/Gen.Purpose+Drive/L100-015NFU.html

So perhaps hanging on to my request for single phase 220V is not important.

Thanks

Tinkerer
04-07-2006, 04:44 PM
Was wondering what effect does running a 3 phase motor thru a inverter or VFD have on your monthly power bill. Anyone that added a machine care to share your veiw on this.

Thanks

3 Phase Lightbulb
04-07-2006, 06:05 PM