PDA

View Full Version : Newbie Questions...

bgray43050
04-11-2006, 01:29 PM
Hi All.

I'm new to this place...seems pretty cozy.

I'm a pretty seasoned woodworker, and lately, I've been turning wooden pens as a small business.

For obvious reasons, a machinists lathe is a MUCH easier tool to produce these pens than a woodworking lathe.

So I'm looking into small machinists lathes. I'm considering the Taig (cheap, simple) and the Sherline (probably better quality, seems like more expandability)

But then there are times that I really do need to machine small parts, and perhaps expanding my talent towards machining is an interest. So I'm thinking about an Enco lathe with threading capabibities, as well as other features...maybe a Grizzly...(???)

I know that my question is pretty broad, and please pardon me (on my woodworking forums, sometimes I pretty get tired of the "which table saw to buy" question), but if you guys don't mind entertaining my question, I would appreciate it.

So two questions...1). A recommendation for a simple machinists lathe that would work fine for turning wooden pens. 2) If I choose to get more into machining, a lathe recommendation that would include threading, as well as some of the more common features....so if I do get into machining, I could turn pens, and also I won't have a machine that would be extinct, and only take me so far into machining.

Also, can someone recommend a good book for the beginner?

Thanks so much.

Brian Gray

SGW
04-11-2006, 01:52 PM
I'm not sure there is a quick answer to your questions.

You may want to see if you can find a copy of "The Amateur's Lathe" by L.H. Sparey. It's available through http://www.lathes.co.uk/ if you can't find it elsewhere.

The book is a bit dated, but most of the information is still very relevant. It will give you a pretty good idea of what matters in a metalworking lathe...modified by the fact that the information is 50+ years old and written from a British point of view.

david_r