PDA

View Full Version : Old Newbie has a few questions

cybor462
04-30-2006, 03:37 AM
Wow I just typed a post that took a half hour and when I hit submit it vanished and was gone. I will try again.

Ok this gets a bit long but I think I have to explain it all.

I am an old newbie as I am 47 and have to operated a machine for an outside employer for 28+ years. I started as a kid I loved machines and anything mechanical. At 8 we would scavenge landfills for axles and wheels and anything else we could find to build go karts. A little later we started putting engines on (back then powered reel mowers were the thing so we had our share of old horizontal shaft engines to rig on our carts.

At 16 I went to work for a Mobil garage and started by pumping gas then wrecker driver and learned all phases of mechanics. I also learned the tire trade. One of our weekly customers owned a local small machine shop and begged me to come work for him. He said he would teach me the trade. I was a loyal employee so I did not show interest in his job. Week after week he would come in and tell me he knew I had what it took to be a machinist and begged me to work for him. I wilted after about a year. I went to work for him.