PDA

View Full Version : Threading on the lathe

berol
05-04-2006, 11:20 PM
Posted this on the "Third Hand" but on ly got one reply in two days.
I am a beginner so please explain in simple terms, Thanks! When looking in the Machinists handbook, I see for a 1/2" - 13 class 2a external thread the major dia has a spread from max 0.4985" to min 0.4876" and the pitch dia max 0.4485" to min 0.4435" 1st, What is does the 0.0015" in the Allowance column mean 2nd, What is the 0.4822" in the min (small d) column. 3nd, How do I decide where within these spreads to shoot for when cutting the thread. Will external threads work properly with a corresponing same class intenal thread if both have finished dimensions that are anywhere within their respective tolerance spreads. Thanks, berol

cruzinonline
05-05-2006, 12:09 AM
As I told you before, don't drive yourself silly with this. Unless you are goind to buy an expensive set of thread mics or adapters and do a lot of calculations, use thread wires and the chart that comes with them. You won't go wrong and if the hole is tapped the male will work if cut to the wires. Unless your cutting ultraprecison threads for the Hubble telescope, this will get you through fine. Hey, its worked on parts for nuclear reactors on Navy subs so it should be good enough for what your doing.

eperkins
05-05-2006, 11:02 AM
Machinery's Handbook as well as many texts go into great detail about classes and fits of threads. For a beginner or HSM, it can be overwhelming and seem very technical. From a practical standpoint such as a one off project, all you really need to do is thread to fit a standard nut using the nut as the guage. For an internal thread, use a threaded bolt or screw as a guage. As previously said, unless you are making parts for the Hubble telescope, this will probably suffice for 99% of the work you will do. I have been doing it for years this way.

Perk in Cincinnati

kap pullen
05-05-2006, 05:06 PM