PDA

View Full Version : Hydro Rating



madman
05-08-2006, 02:18 PM
I have 3.0 wire 90 feet long running from my home to my shop. It currently is fused for 30 amp usage. I am upgrading to five horse compressor and a 250 amp (hopefully miller mig welder) Can i run more than thirty amp through this 3.0 wire its quite fat looking. Thanx Mike

Rich Carlstedt
05-08-2006, 02:45 PM
mike
You didn't say if it was Copper or Aluminum ?
A number 3 Copper wire is rated at 80 Amps buried or 120 amps when
strung between poles.
I would say you are covered as the distance means little with the loads you mentioned.
Your Welder probably will draw 60 amps at 220 when it is fully loaded.
Rich

CCWKen
05-08-2006, 02:53 PM
Is it 3 gauge or 000 gauge. There's a BIG difference. If it's 000, you can probably run a full 200A circuit feed for the shop. If it's 3ga., the max is about 75A. (Copper)

C - ROSS
05-08-2006, 11:17 PM
Does he mean that there are 3 one ought (0) OR 1 3 ought (000) or possibly one #3 (?) conductor (kinda a rare bird) . With out a better description everyone is just shooting in the dark.

Ross

gmatov
05-09-2006, 01:10 AM
I don't think he means 3 point 0, he means 000, and I don't think he has run one conductor of it. Hard to complete a circuit, especially 220 with one conductor.

Until he posts again, we should assume he has run 3 wire, 3/0 with maybe a 2/0 neutral. Not 200 amp, but I do think good for 150. 200 is 4/0, I do believe, at least in aluminum. Come to think of it, copper and Al are the same ampacity, different diameter, Al is fatter.

Cheers,

George