PDA

View Full Version : Did I waste my money?

lugnut
05-10-2006, 11:19 PM
I bid on, and bought a Rotary table on Ebay today. It's not like any other I have seen, but then I'm very new to these kind of things. Would you take a look and tell me if ????????
http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&rd=1&item=7616201377&ssPageName=STRK:MEWA:IT
I'm hoping that the hex nut turns the table. It was cheap and so am I, so maybe it and I will get along. Any thoughts or advice?

Mel

charlie coghill
05-10-2006, 11:43 PM
Lugnut I don't THINK that nut is for turning the table. Maybe for locking the table to keep if from turning. I could be wrong and hope I am.

CCWKen
05-10-2006, 11:50 PM
It's not really a Rotary Table--It's a degree turn table. The hex nut is probably part of the locking mechanism. It looks shop made. I almost bid on it too but looked closer at the pictures. The T-slots are mighty small too.

Waste? Maybe not. You can use it to index your vise or something. I wouldn't count on it being too accurate though.

PTSideshow
05-10-2006, 11:52 PM
Looks like a self made one, nut is probably a lock down device. I think you turn the table by hand power. if you don't require a high degree of accuracy you will get along. I have a 4" sherline cnc rotatry table.

neonman
05-10-2006, 11:55 PM
I've found that normally you get what you pay for or less.

CCW, where are you, I'm in leander.

neonman

CCWKen
05-11-2006, 12:00 AM
Lytle, TX. About 25 miles SW of San Antonio. 3.5 miles off IH-35.

"The Sticks" as they call it in the big city. :D

neonman
05-11-2006, 12:08 AM
CCW, you really are DEEP in the heart. If you ever get up to north Austin,
give me s shout, we could tip a cold ome or two.

neonman

Steve Stube
05-11-2006, 02:04 AM