PDA

View Full Version : The 4-jaw blues. Chuck help.

dberndt
05-11-2006, 06:42 PM
Ok to start off with I don't have alot of time running a lathe and I'm just a newbie HSM'er.

I've been trying to turn an accessory for my mill spindle to .0005" TIR but thus far have been failing totally.

Heres a drawing of the part.

Note: drawing is 1:2 scale.
http://pad.phalnet.com/view.php?imgid=1017

The top face of the adapter seats against the top of the threaded spindle. This is what gives registration, or atleast its what I think does. I havent been holding the thread or the undercut above it to any particular tightness as I don't think this matters when the part is threaded up against the register it should seat correctly anyways?

My current order of operations is.

Center drill both ends.
turn OD to size between centers.
put in 4 jaw chuck, dial in with .001" dial indicator, With a good look at the dial I can ussually adjust to the point of no needle movement. (more on chuck problems later)
drill, bore to 20.5mm for thread.
thread using tailstock center for a guide
bore undercut
face
chamfer edges.

At this point the other end is still not faced but it has to come out of the 4 jaw chuck to be flipped to face the other end. At this point I ussually stick it on the spindle and find that it runs out .004-.010". Which is way off what I'm looking for.

A side note on my chuck, It seems to be holding things slightly crooked. A turned surface when chucked won't come out being chucked parallel to the ways, it will be off one way or the other by a few thou per inch it sticks out of the chuck. I initially didn't realize this was the case and just dialed in one location on the work piece and ofcourse got terrible runout further down the shaft. Is this normal, or should I expect the chuck to grab the work piece parallel to the ways with good repeatability?

SGW
05-11-2006, 06:47 PM
Here's an idea for you: turn the o.d. last.