PDA

View Full Version : New newbie here

Coddfather
05-18-2006, 02:08 PM
Thought I would jump in and say hi all. I inherated my uncles 12x36 Atlas/ Craftsman back geared metal lathe. He was a brilliant fabricator that built most of the machines in the early years of the Bassett Furniture Company. He had been using it for wood working so you can guess what condition it was in. It had a couple of broken pieces and some worn pieces but I am getting it back in working order. I would like to get some additional attachments for it but I am finding it will be more fun to make them than buy them. Thanks in advance for answering any questions I may have. Jim.......BTW, I'm in the Tampa Fl. area so if anybody close by is out there give a shout.

Evan
05-18-2006, 02:22 PM
Hi. Nothing wrong with a little sawdust in the works. Used car salesmen have been using it for decades to make differentials run nice and quiet.

Alistair Hosie
05-18-2006, 02:33 PM
Welcome new member I hope we can make you feel at home and be helpful in the furure don't hesitate to ask what you like even if it sounds trivial at the time :DAlistair

CCWKen
05-18-2006, 02:37 PM
Welcome to the forum!

That's a dandy lathe and can provide years more of enjoyment and craftsmanship. I just finished restoring one myself--A 1939-42 model 101-07403.

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/0903/CCWKen/Tools/Craftsman%20Lathe/CraftsmanLathe05.jpg

IOWOLF
05-18-2006, 04:41 PM
She sure is purdy Ken,Wanna do another?A 10" with Q/C and a lot of extras, We could trade,I think you know for what. ;)

CCWKen
05-18-2006, 05:19 PM
LOL...I'm holding out for one of those big loaded BP mills you Northerners claim to be in such abundance up there. ;)

IOWOLF
05-18-2006, 05:34 PM
Ken,What specs. are you looking for?

eddie6675
05-18-2006, 05:36 PM