PDA

View Full Version : Chinese scale/Readout type question?



wierdscience
05-18-2006, 10:27 PM
I bought a couple of Chinese scales to replace the indicators on my mini-mill and I also came across a single axis display cheap.The display works good,but I only have one.

Question is would there be any reason why I couldn't use a small rotary switch and simply switch back and forth between scales as need be?

John Stevenson
05-19-2006, 02:31 AM
None at all weird.
There are a few doing this in the UK with no problems.
Also our local supplier has stopped selling the 2 and 3 axis displays because if one goes faulty the lot is scrap and he's fed up of the problems.
The single axis ones seem to last longer so he just sells these and spare cables for the switch conversion.

Warren2173
05-19-2006, 11:20 AM
John, I'm in the middle of installing the same scales on my mill. Where can I get these 1 axis DRO's & hardware?...

John Stevenson
05-19-2006, 12:41 PM
Warren,
Are you in the UK, your profiles doesn't say?
If so Then Arceurotrade has these.

http://www.arceurotrade.co.uk/

If not them I'm guessing at places in the US

wierdscience
05-19-2006, 11:24 PM
Warren,
Are you in the UK, your profiles doesn't say?
If so Then Arceurotrade has these.

http://www.arceurotrade.co.uk/

If not them I'm guessing at places in the US

Thanks for that John,that's what I will do for now.

The link you posted doesn't look like they ship here,but I did find the Chinese company that makes them,maybe I'll get in a few samples to try.

John Stevenson
05-20-2006, 04:26 AM
Darrin,
If you want one and any leads let me know and I'll get some shipped over to you. £ to $ may not be favorable but out of my hands.

JCHannum
05-20-2006, 06:08 AM
A three axis unit is available here at a reasonable price:

http://www.cdcotools.com/index.php

They might have a single axis unit by now also.