PDA

View Full Version : Subscriptions

snorman
10-21-2001, 08:47 PM
Hi. I'm new here and think maybe I'd like to subscribe to one of the magazines. There's not a very good description on the website of what each covers however. Can anyone help me out here?

PS: I'm a toolmaker turned machinist. Ever turn a machinist? ;-)

[This message has been edited by snorman (edited 10-21-2001).]

Thrud
10-22-2001, 01:32 AM
snorman,

Turning a machinist must be pretty bloody - safety first! ;-)

I subscribe to both "MW" & "HSM". I purchase "Live Steam" from a local train shop. Over the years there always has been someone writting to the Editor to bitch about the content of the magazines. If these hosers can do better, they should send their articles in before complaining about someone else's work. I do not get very excited about the content at times, but I still read the articles and appreciate the Author's sharing their experiences. It is amazing to see some of the things done with what some would consider "toys" or "junk". I take my hat off to them for sharing with me (cover your eyes, you could get blinded!)

As far as content goes, they both cover a wide range of skills from making patterns and casting to making job specific machines for the shop and homestead. Never the same thing ad nauseum. The magazines are starting to get colour now too (the ads are so beautiful, I could cry...). They are well worth it, I feel.

All in all, I would say quit yer yappin' and just subscribe already - enjoy!

Dave

Paul H
10-22-2001, 01:24 PM
Personally, I think the older issues had better articles, and would recomend getting some of the early compilation books.

Since our local book store caries both magazines, I just pick one up now and then, when there is an interesting article.

I'd also highly recomend Guy Lautard's Machinist Bedside Readers, get all threee, then bug him to bring out the 4th.

Thrud
10-22-2001, 11:43 PM
Gents,