PDA

View Full Version : 3 jaw chuck 101.

gundog
07-20-2006, 12:41 AM
Here are some tips for indicating in a part on a three jaw chuck. I keep reading about guys saying their three jaw chuck is not concentric and has too much runout. A friend of mine an old machinist showed me this I am a home shop self taught guy so I thought it was cool, so I am going to share it with you. If you are an experienced machinist this probably is a waste of your time or maybe you can add something for the rest of us.

The first picture is a piece of seamless pipe I picked up for another project and it is pretty round or concentric so I decided to use it for this demo.

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v292/millnut/DSC03340.jpg

The second photo shows me setting up the indicator on the end of the pipe. Snug up the chuck but don’t cinch it down yet. Rolling the chuck by hand to find the low point and setting zero there.

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v292/millnut/DSC03341.jpg

The next photo shows the high point about .012” out some would say bad chuck or the pipe is not round.

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v292/millnut/DSC03342.jpg

The third photo is me tapping the high side with a small soft hammer. Then roll the chuck and keep tapping the high side until it is concentric. Then snug up the chuck and roll it again might need a love tap or two just don’t beat it with a BFH or you might damage your chuck. If the part is not round it will never indicate in but it will be closer than just chucking it and going from there.

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v292/millnut/DSC03343.jpg

I was able to get this part from .012” out to .001”. If you need better than that better dig out the 4 jaw.
If this was any help great it has helped me.
GD

kap pullen
07-20-2006, 08:28 AM
Gun Dog,

That's really neat.
How does your friend make it run true at the jaws?

The usual procedure I learned is true it at the jaws, then tap the end true.