PDA

View Full Version : machining fiberglass

spkrman15
07-23-2006, 06:42 AM
Can it be done?

Rob :)

John Stevenson
07-23-2006, 07:03 AM
Yes but you need carbide tooling, it's very abrasive.

Ian B
07-23-2006, 07:39 AM
The fine white powder that results from machining fibreglass makes a very good and cheap substitute for talcum powder; rub it under your arms and any other sensitive areas. let us know how you get on...

Ian

thistle
07-23-2006, 08:18 AM
its also excellent for ensuring your tools last for years and years .

is it machinable ?
depends what you want to do,with out saying what you are doing it is difficult to give an opinion.

Mark Hockett
07-23-2006, 02:25 PM
I worked as a machinist for a large aerospace composite manufacture. We machined lots of fiberglass. It is very damaging to machine tools and tooling. The dust created from machining is like very fine sand. It sticks to every oily surface (ways, lead screws, ball screws) on the machines where it works like lapping compound. It is also hazardous to breath. The best way to help keep the dust down is use flood coolant but then the residue will plug up the coolant system very quickly. If you don't have an enclosed machine and flood coolant with a good filter system I wouldn't recommend machining it.

Mark Hockett
Island Tech Enterprises
Clinton, WA 98236
360-914-6026

More chip less lip

Evan
07-23-2006, 04:12 PM
There are few materials I dislike more than fiberglass. It's a tossup between fiberglass and freshly used diapers. I would rather have my thumbnail ripped off by a spinning chuck than machine fiberglass. The only thing worse than machining fiberglass is laying it up. I have done both.

motorworks
07-23-2006, 04:18 PM
I machine it now and then.
Hook up the shop vac close to the tool.
and yes wear a mask

Millman
07-23-2006, 06:05 PM