PDA

View Full Version : Woodworker Needs Help With Metalworking!

Tenderfoot Bob
07-30-2006, 11:11 AM
I am an experience woodworking hobbyist, who is trying to make a golf putter head out of aluminum stock.

When I try to use my grinding wheel (aluminum oxide) to shape the aluminum stock it loads up quickly and I stop. I've heard of exploding wheels.

When I use my woodworking drill press (14") to drill 1/8" holes one inch deep, the drill bit snaps off and the part that is lodged in the aluminum cannot be pulled out. I have lost three drill bits despite frequently withdrawing the drill bit to make sure the flutes do not get loaded up with aluminum or get overheated. Should I be using a lubricant? At what speed should I set my drill press? Mine has speeds ranging from 350 to 3500 rpm.

For what I thought would be an interesting project has become a very frustrating one. Any help would be appreciated.

Tenderfoot Bob

Backyard
07-30-2006, 11:21 AM
You Dont Use Aluminum, Copper, or Brass on a Grinding wheel, thay melt into "load up" the wheel.

wierdscience
07-30-2006, 12:11 PM
Use a belt sander to do your shaping,belts don't load up like grinding wheels.

Drill speed,2,500-3,000 rpm,WD-40 for lubricant with a light feed pressure.Wear safty glasses.

Use "peck" drilling,apply a little pressure until you see curls come out of the drill flutes about 2" long,ease up on the feed so the curls fly off then feed it again adding WD-40 every other time.

Hope that helps.

winchman
07-30-2006, 12:19 PM
You can grind aluminum with a "flap wheel". There is also an "Aluminum Oxide for Aluminum— Bonded without any wax or rubber filler, these discs resist loading and are ideal for grinding aluminum and other soft metals." See the bottom of page 2519 of McMaster-Carr: http://www.mcmaster.com/