PDA

View Full Version : Bridgeport Info

MikesAuto
08-05-2006, 02:28 PM
Hello All-

This is my first post to this forum, I have been "lurking" for some time and I am impressed with the amount of activity, knowledge, and general friendliness here. I also frequent some shooting forums, and some of them have turned downright nasty, to the point I almost never post on them.

I have about 18 years experience as an engine machinist and builder, operating boring bars, Sunnen hones, crank grinders, valve and seat equipment, lathe, etc., but I have an opportunity to purchase a Bridgeport mill and need some guidance. I have almost no experience with vertical mills, I am looking at this one more as a machine for "one off" personal projects, with speed of production not being a factor.

The serial number of the mill is J-48986.

It also has a shaping attachment, serial number E-12369. The shaping attachment appears to have been added, as it is green and the mill is grey.

Do the serial numbers give an idea as to date of manufacture?

The mill has a power feed on the table.

My main concern: Before purchasing, are there any areas that I can check out without major disassembly that can provide some clues as to the condition of the machine? I realize that this is an old piece and may need some reconditioning and TLC, but I don't want to get into major headaches and expense.

The machine has sat unused for several years, and is located about two miles from my shop. I am in the position of being able to make an offer on it. I want to be fair to the present owner (and to myself as well). Any suggestions on a reasonable price?

Thank You in advance, Mike

John Stevenson
08-05-2006, 02:38 PM
J-48986 is the head number which can be any date as they never ran in line.
Some heads were sold on their own to other makers and some machines like the tracers had multiple heads..