PDA

View Full Version : Bandsaw Advice

pntrbl
08-20-2006, 12:27 AM
Complete newbie here but I've walked into something I can't pass up. For the price of making some parts (yet to be negotiated) I will own a 9x42 Bridgeport and 2 good sized Engine Lathes. A LeBlond and a Logan. Right now I'm setting up for 3 phase and dealing with how am I ever gonna move them things, but the one thing I will have to buy is a bandsaw.

The raw material is approx. 9-10 inch dia. ordinary steel with a hole in the middle, but I will also have to cut 1 piece of stainless of a similar dia. for each assembly. There's also some aluminum stands and what have you.

I was thinking about a horizontal saw vs vertical. Let the weight of the saw do the work instead of me standing there trying to keep it straight. I haven't a clue tho! LOL!

No doubt this is a big bite for someone with no experience, but if I can pull it off .....

Bill

Millman
08-20-2006, 12:32 AM
you're a lucky dog. I would use a horizontal saw for production with that diameter.

TECHSHOP
08-20-2006, 12:41 AM
You aren't starting too small, are you now?

I would go with a horizontal saw, set it up and let it cut while you are doing something else. Don't know how long your raw stock is, but I guess you have the room for all this stuff with space left over to stand?

Good luck, and get a pair of good work boots.

CCWKen
08-20-2006, 12:42 AM
Ditto on the "dog" and horizontal. :D I think I'd stay away from aluminum supports though. Use a roller bed for material handling. As soon as you get it, you'll be cutting heavy stock too.

pntrbl
08-20-2006, 09:50 AM
I haven't a clue what lengths the stock comes in but no doubt material that size is gonna get heavy fast. It'll need some solid support on it's way into the saw.