PDA

View Full Version : modern metallurgy

darryl
02-25-2003, 05:02 AM
I've read about metals being 'sprayed' on to a rotating drum that is cooled. The metal is cooled so quickly that crystals don't have time to form. The result is a material that has enhanced qualities for use in transformers, motors, etc. I think some of those samarium cobalt model electric motors are using it. My question is has anyone had any experience working with materials made this way, and what might some other uses be. It seems to me that it could be machined very easily, and acquire a very good surface finish.

wierdscience
02-25-2003, 09:37 AM
I have had limited experience with the alloys in question we machined some bushings that were made from a nickel/cadnium alloy nasty stuff to cut these two are things that normally don't go together except they were sintered in a press.The people that supplied the bushings gave us some literature on the process and it involed pouring the molten metal onto a water cooled ni-hard disc that was spun up at 10,000 in an argon atmosphere.This produced metalic nodules that could be mixed to the desired compostion and the sintered in a heated die to form an alloy that had lets say "designer" properties the primary draw backs where expense these little bushings 1/2od .472id 1.340 long cost about $90.00 each to make and they were extremely brittle and difficult to machine.They were going to be a experiment in an aerospace assembly but last I heard they were replaced with alluminum bronze!$2.75 each!I have had a lot off experience with sintered products of the normal compostions with mixed results.

Thrud
02-26-2003, 01:55 AM
darryl:
Can't help you there.

There are lots of neat things happening in the metalworking world and new materials being worked on every day. Companies like Iscar, Kennametal, and Sandvik are constantly coming up with new innovations.

yf
02-26-2003, 11:49 AM