PDA

View Full Version : Fumes from cutting oil?

Rif
08-28-2006, 12:40 AM
Hello,

I have been a lurker for quite a while and recently signed up. I am a newbie and have been machining occasionally for about 3 years on a mini lathe and mill.

Today I was machining a small steel shaft and the cutting oil I was using was putting off fumes. I am wondering what you guys do to avoid breathing that stuff? Or, do I need to use some other oil? I usually use whatever light oil is around as a coolant.

Thanks,

Rif

b2u44
08-28-2006, 01:45 AM
Rif,

In larger shops, there is enough space that the fumes dissipate without much problem. In the home shop, it can be more problematic. I usually set up a small fan near my machines if I anticipate a smoke-generating procedure. That still won't help if your entire room fills up.

Some oils are better than others, but if you're running your tooling at recommended surface speeds, smoke is pretty common. If you're using HSS tooling, try reducing your cutting speed. That will lower your cutting temperatures and may reduce smoking. If you're using carbide, you can probably get away without using oil.

--Ben

Evan
08-28-2006, 01:52 AM
I wonder if hash oil would make a good cutting lube? :cool::D

Willy
08-28-2006, 02:01 AM
I wonder if hash oil would make a good cutting lube? :cool::D

Only for a little while....and then you would probably forget what you were working on.;)

speedsport
08-28-2006, 02:04 AM
you might have to thin it with bong water.

A.K. Boomer
08-28-2006, 04:16 AM
I actually have to get a fix of cutting oil now and then , and it has to be high in sulfer to,,,, i'll tell you what i cant stand , delrin, i dont get headaches but i get them if i machine delrin, i hate delrin , i think its toxic.

Forrest Addy
08-28-2006, 05:00 AM