PDA

View Full Version : Hello everyone Im new and just starting out

coralhound
02-23-2003, 12:49 AM
My name is Chris and I have been a tinker for many years. I have been working with wood for several years. Recently I have gotten into restoring old Machines I have a drill press, band saw and jointer from the late 50's. Its been working on their restorations that has really pushed me over the edge to want to pick up working with metal again (I did it in school and with my dad). Anyway I want to get started and was looking for advice as which is the best way to start. I was thinking of a combo mill lathe machine. If I could find some old compact machines that could use some work that works too. Thanks in advance Im looking forward to learning alot here.

Chris

coralhound
02-23-2003, 01:54 AM
OK I have spent some time using the search feature and have confirmed my thoughts. Two machines are better than a one. But now its which one first the mill or the lathe? unfortunatly funds will only allow one.

Space and money are in short supply so I am looking at bench type models. for a mill drill and lathe I dont think a 7" X 10" will be big enough but maybe a used import for a deal will get me started.

Dave Opincarne
02-23-2003, 02:14 AM
It depends, could you give us a little more information on what type of progects you'd like to take on or what your interests are?

darryl
02-23-2003, 02:29 AM
I would start with a lathe, as lots of milling jobs can be done on it as well as turning. It's handy to have a crosslide with t-slots in it so you can make fixtures to do all kinds of things. My first lathe was a 3x10 or so, the next one, my 'permanent' one is an 8x18 and I still can't do some of the larger diameter things I want to with it, but it's already 200 lbs plus, so ---.

coralhound
02-23-2003, 02:31 AM
Dave,