PDA

View Full Version : New guy with Questions & a couple Pics.

corvin1
09-03-2006, 12:09 PM
Hello all,

I've lurked here off and on for a year or two (mostly off - too many kids, too few hours in a day!)

Anyway, after owning an Atlas QC 10" lathe for 2 years now, I've finally got it running somewhat. While I have done some work with metals off and on over the years, I am 100% self taught. I have to take some classes/invest in some DVD's or books soon before I hurt myself.

While I am self taught at a number of things, for some reason, metalworking with all it's very unique terms hasn't seem to come very naturally. Maybe I'm getting old!!

Anyway, here is a piece I chucked up and started doing some test cuts with.

http://unisawparts.com/images/atlaslathesetup/setup.jpg

A couple questions:

Is this tool post what is referred to as a 'lantern tool post'?

I've since raised the cutter to the centerline of the work piece. Any other comments on how it is positioned.

There was enough runout on the end of the piece that I stopped cutting out there. I will eventually need to address runout, but that's for the future.

I went to use the tailstock and have a couple problems.

The live center won't spin with the material. Is there a way to tear these down and rebuild/rebearing/relube these?

http://unisawparts.com/images/atlaslathesetup/livecenter.jpg

Finally, the movement of extending the tailstock spindle was VERY stiff and when I got to the end, I must have run off the end of the threads, because now it will not extend or retract.

http://unisawparts.com/images/atlaslathesetup/Tailstock.jpg

My question here:

What is the small removable metal insert at the end of the arrow?

How do I dissassemble the tailstock to reengage the internal thread mechanism?

Any links to a parts diagram for this critter?

Thanks much everyone,

Chris

3jaw
09-03-2006, 12:29 PM
Welcome to the board!

I can answer most of your questions.