PDA

View Full Version : OT: New computer - 58 processes running...



Wayne02
09-06-2006, 01:14 AM
I bought this new "e-machine" (I think it is a gateway) from costco.
Start it up and before I've even put any of the software I actually want on it I have 58 processes running...

1. There is a mcafee antivirus "30 day trial" deal that pops up first thing on start-up. I don't like mcafee, won't use mcafee, want mcafee to go away. Naturally there is only one option on the mcafee window - install or start (don't remember exactly). There is no option to decline or close the window. The only way I'm able to close the window is to open task master and close the running mcafee application.

So, how do I identify the macafee related processes on task manager so I can delete them? I wanted to copy the list of running processes from task manager and paste them in this post but can't figure out how to do that?

2. When I first started the machine up the dvd/cd drive would not open. I popped the cover off and found that the power cable was not connected to the drive. Put that back on and it opens and reads now. How many cables are supposed to go to the dvd drive? I know the ribbon cable and the power cable, both of which are connected now. Is there a third cable? I seem to recall a third cable on my older than dirt cd drive in my old machine...

Thanks
Wayne

winchman
09-06-2006, 05:38 AM
Fortunately, the Dell I'm using had a complete crash right after we opened the box. We found out the "restore" disc only puts in the basic OS. You have to hunt around for all the stupid applications they install on new machines, if you want them back. We didn't bother to do that, so the machine is really clean.

That's how we got rid of all that junk. All told, the crash was a good thing.

Roger

railfancwb
09-06-2006, 07:19 AM
If you only have one optical drive (DVD or CD) there normally should be a two wire audio cable connected to it in addition to the power and ribbon cables. Charles

Wayne02
09-06-2006, 02:07 PM
Well, I'm spending all morning removing software via the remove program deal in control panel. Of course removing the program is only half the battle, then I have to find all the file folders, short-cuts, icons etc and delete them, which are usually buried in multiple different directories. It's amazing that they still put AOL on these machines...

CD/DVD drive seems to play cd's ok, so I guess it's working (don't have any dvd's to try).

I've set the windows update to automatic. Now I'm getting notification that there are two updates to install. These updates require agreeing to the ula (or whatever that is) before they will install the two updates. The updates are:

1. windows malicious software removal tool

2. windows genuine advantage notification (aka registration).
This is the one where they record your system/software info at the mother ship to make sure you are running licensed, registered, recorded copies of xp and such.

While I have purchased this system (and all my other software) legitimately and have legal copies and such, this whole ms mother-ship monitoring registration scheme sure rubs me the wrong way.

The update says if I don't agree to installing #2, there may be future updates that require it and if I don't have it I can't get "certain" updates.

What happens if I don't install #2? Will that stupid update balloon continue to pop up and annoy me? Will I really be denied important updates from ms, or is that just a scare tactic??

Wayne

Evan
09-06-2006, 02:43 PM
Two cables is normal to the CD. The old audio connector isn't required as all the audio software uses digital audio extraction directly from the data.

Windows WGA is not the same as product activation. It is a good deal more intrusive and I will not install it. Not having it will prevent some updates from installing from windows update but last I heard all critical updates will still install ok if they come via automatic update.

There is another update option as well. You can get all the updates here without using WGA.

http://windowsupdate.62nds.com/

Wayne02
09-06-2006, 02:56 PM
Ok, I won't install wga. How about the windows malicious software removal tool?

I need to decide on antivirus and spyware software for this machine.

I used norton antivirus on my old machine but don't want to go that route again. I'm thinking avg or agv antivirus would be good enough?

For spyware I would occasionally run spybot and adaware on my old machine, but my understanding is those two do not provided "real-time" protection. So I purchased spysweeper and it would continually run the hard drive at about second intervals doing whatever it was doing. Each time this happened the cursor was tied up and any activity had to be stopped.

What direction to go for spyware these days?

Thanks
Wayne

Michael Moore
09-06-2006, 03:13 PM
Be sure and pay a visit to

http://www.grc.com/default.htm

and run the utilities that will probe your machine via the Internet connection to see what your exposure is.

There's one Windows "security" update that screws up my video drivers so that Rhino crashes, so after any updates it is usually a good idea to try out various programs to see what was broken. You can then "roll back" to before the update if you have to do so. I have mine set to automatically check for updates and download them in the background, but to not automatically install them.

You can also look through the registry and prune references to deleted programs to help clean things up. You might want to export a copy of the registry before you start doing that in case you have an "ooops" moment. Look in your "startup" folder too.

cheers,
Michael

Evan
09-06-2006, 04:06 PM
Norton sucks. Spysweeper sucks. AVG is good. AVG also has a new realtime protection spyware program that you can download free. After one month it cripples to no realtime or auto update but still works to scan. I don't know what it costs. The MS malware tool doesn't seem to work.

Evan
09-06-2006, 04:10 PM
Here is the real answer to keeping your computer safe. It runs all programs in a "sandbox" so they don't have write access to the hard drive. Anything that you run in Sandboxie thinks it has complete access but doesn't. If there is something you want to really save to the drive then you transfer it from the sandbox to the same place on the drive. It's free. Read the directions.

http://www.sandboxie.com/

BadDog
09-06-2006, 04:37 PM
Every time I get a new laptop (I build my own desktops), first thing I do is reformat and reinstall everything *I* want. That's really the only way to get rid of all the garbage Dell and others insist on installing. The uninstall programs rarely do a very good job, and the companies providing them have little or no (and often counter) incentive to make them work right.

Then, if you *really* want to keep the system clean, you can install a virtualization program like VPC (http://www.microsoft.com/windows/virtualpc/default.mspx) (free) or VMWare (http://www.vmware.com/) (often preferred, but not free). It makes the system run slower due to the extra overhead, but it allows you to effectively have multiple "systems" inside the single computer without the hassles of multi-booting, and you can have more than one running at a time. So you could keep all your really personal stuff like banking, private documents, and such on the host system to get max performance. Then browse the web with a dedicated "image" (the virtualized systems are called images) that has nothing but your web tools like browser, readers, etc. And still other images that allow you to try out the latest beta software or random share/freeware that you’re not sure you can trust. Then you can just blow it away and start clean if/as needed. I’ve even seen people who have nothing on the host system except VPC and they don’t have to worry if the latest “patch” trashes something since they can always roll back with almost zero effort. All that's really required is a fast system so that the images don't slow down unacceptably and a large, fast hard drive...

EDMTech
09-06-2006, 07:28 PM
You will only have the extra wires on the CD/DVD drive if the soundcard supports it. Those are for direct digital out to the soundcard for audio playback without having to send the data through the IDE bus and slow it down. Chances are an E-machine will have generic on board sound and no such option :(

Dawai
09-06-2006, 08:01 PM
Have you looked at the newer Linux "free" software?? It is quite stable, some comes with pretty neato 3d modeling software that jumps right into Mastercam.

EDMTech
09-06-2006, 10:29 PM
Have you looked at the newer Linux "free" software?? It is quite stable, some comes with pretty neato 3d modeling software that jumps right into Mastercam.

What distro is coming with that?

And "Free"? Have you looked at the box prices of Mandrake or Red Hat lately???

Evan
09-06-2006, 10:38 PM
Download free Mandrake (now Mandriva) here:

http://www.mandriva.com/en/download

Wayne02
09-09-2006, 05:31 PM
Windows WGA is not the same as product activation. It is a good deal more intrusive and I will not install it. Not having it will prevent some updates from installing from windows update but last I heard all critical updates will still install ok if they come via automatic update.

There is another update option as well. You can get all the updates here without using WGA.
http://windowsupdate.62nds.com/
From that site: "If you're using Internet Explorer, you will need to use Microsoft's Windows Update site for updates -- this site will be of no use to you."

So I don't see how that helps me with IE?

Wayne02
09-09-2006, 05:38 PM
Windows WGA is not the same as product activation. It is a good deal more intrusive and I will not install it. Not having it will prevent some updates from installing from windows update but last I heard all critical updates will still install ok if they come via automatic update.
Is there anyway for me to stop that yellow update icon in the tray from popping up twice a day telling me I have updates to install (the two identified in this post and I don't want them installed)???

These are the WGA and malicious software removal deals that require agreement to the ula before they will install.


Also, I just installed office2003 and it installed something called MS SQL server service manager. What is that? According to task manager it is a big program size wise. Do I need it??

Edited to add: IE is not opening in full screen. It opens in semi-full screen. How do I set it to open in full screen?

Thanks
Wayne

Evan
09-09-2006, 06:41 PM
The windiz site uses Firefox to update. You should use Firefox anyway, it's safer.

You can stop those reminders by turning off automatic updates: Start>right click My Computer>Properties>Automatic updates

To make the browser open full screen set it that way and close it. It will remember.

Wayne02
09-10-2006, 07:10 PM
The windiz site uses Firefox to update. You should use Firefox anyway, it's safer.

You can stop those reminders by turning off automatic updates: Start>right click My Computer>Properties>Automatic updates

To make the browser open full screen set it that way and close it. It will remember.
I suppose I should look into firefox, but have been hesitant due to poor reports with how it interfaces with the universities online software.

The browser issue is whenever I open a net new browser window, either from the xp menu or via a link from another site or from an email, it always opens it less than full screen.

What is MS SQL server service manager, and do I really need it on my machine?

Wayne

Dawai
09-10-2006, 07:28 PM
ubuntu Linux, It ran fine for a few hours, then I lost hard drive since I was downloading all the software I could find. It has a update manager, there is even a "porn Surfer" and player program you can download.

Mepis Linux on this computer, a Debian version.. Updates crash it.. so run what ya got. This is my wifes toy in the arcade cabinet I built her. Kinda looks like a old pacman box, but different. This was considered a "junk" computer and gave to me. Seems it is 1.4 or so gig..

AND It runs, and runs, and runs...

Knoppix is a version that can run with just a cdrom, no hard drive needed..