PDA

View Full Version : New air compressor

cuemaker
09-12-2006, 04:49 PM
I am thinking of picking up this air compressor from Eaton.

http://www.eatoncompressor.com/catalog/item/733537/450646.htm

Their ad makes it seem like they are delivering what they really say versus say something from HF, HD or TSC for the same size price range.

Can someone give me a more qualified opinion.

My uses will be limited. Some filling of tires, small spray gun, blowing some wood chips, MAYBE the occasional air tool like a sander (already have electric) but maybe more likely a small nailer.

MTNGUN
09-12-2006, 05:42 PM
I'm not an expert on the subject but some of the parts on the Eaton look an awful lot like the parts on my HF compressor. At that price, you know it's made in China, probably at the same factory that makes the HF compressors.

I'm sure it will be fine for your purposes.

I've had the HF for a couple of years now, used daily in a working shop. No problems except that it is noisy, and a little small for running my blast cabinet.

DR
09-12-2006, 07:26 PM
Yep, it's a generic contractor's type compressor. I have two that are identical, both different brands, Air Mite and something else, but I'm sure they're old enough that they were made in this country.

At that price your's is likely from offshore.

Kind of too bad when the name brand compressor people like Eaton get on the bandwagon and start pushing low end stuff.

garyphansen
09-13-2006, 10:24 AM