PDA

View Full Version : OT: (?) Finding and keeping good employees

Dan Craig
09-14-2006, 01:13 PM
Those of you who have employees - where do you go to find good ones?

We've got a small family manufacturing business which employees 3 others beside the 3 of us in the family. We recently lost a very good employee to illness and have in the past had a hard time finding good ones, and are currently having a hard time.

We really need someone, probably a little older, in a stable point in their life, who has some machine shop experience, who wants out of a stressful position and wants to 'join the family' (so to speak). I'm pretty sure these people aren't on Monster or other online sites.

I know they are out there - I just don't know where to find them.

Any ideas or experience is appreciated.

John Stevenson
09-14-2006, 01:19 PM
Me -- me........

Send air fare.

ERBenoit
09-14-2006, 02:57 PM
While I have no experience as an employer, a couple of friends of mine do own small businesses, in the building trades. In discussions, they have the same problems, finding and keeping GOOD help. You mean "I have to be on time", "You want me to get my hands dirty".

The good help that they do have treasures their jobs as much as he treasures their dedication to his business.

To them, it seems that the youger generation does not want to actually "work" to get paid.

speedsport
09-14-2006, 02:59 PM
Post ads everywhere. Wanted, experienced machinist, great benefits and the best pay scale anywhere in the world. Paid holidays, paid vacations, annual sick leave, company truck, profit sharing, pension plan. You will have your pick in a long, long line.

John Stevenson
09-14-2006, 03:31 PM
What sort of truck ?

Timleech
09-14-2006, 03:54 PM
What sort of truck ?

Banned in the UK many years ago by the Truck Acts
:rolleyes:

Tim

speedsport
09-14-2006, 04:42 PM