PDA

View Full Version : dividing rant

loose nut
09-20-2006, 10:13 AM
I recently finished making a splined shaft for a friend who is building a 1940 Wileys gasser street rod, I don't like doing jobs like this because I'm only an amature machinist but he has done work for me on my truck and debts must be paid. Now for the rant. The shaft mates to a steering knuckle of a Honda of some kind and has 29 splines on it, what idiot would design that, 30 splines sure, that divides easy into 360 degrees but 29 is 12.4138 degrees per division. I'm sure the original part was broached but some poor shmuck had to machine the cutter to do that. Don't designers think about the people that have to make there creations How much of a difference would it have made to use 30 splines. Does anyone have some enlightenment on this.:confused:

Evan
09-20-2006, 10:49 AM
The use of odd numbers of splines helps to reduce repeating patterns of wear in the bearing supporting the coupling. Since the splines will never be exactly perfect it helps to prevent a recurring pattern of vibration that lines up repeatedly with the bearing rollers or balls, especially since 29 is a prime number. This is very commonly used in gears so that the gear teeth don't repeatedly mesh in the same sequence with the same teeth every revolution or multiple thereof.

agrip
09-20-2006, 10:52 AM
LN

Your post seems that you really are upset.
Sorry bout that.
I guess this is your lucky day.
There is an old time attachment to milling machines, called a dividing head.
29 is a common number on these devices.

Used to be kinda pricey but in the days of CNC, and Chinese industrial revolution, they are available at more reasonable prices.

For a one-off, I suggest you borrow or purchase a 29 tooth gear, or sproket to use as an index locator and go from there.

Hth Ag

J. R. Williams
09-20-2006, 10:56 AM