PDA

View Full Version : OT- Electrical question

cuemaker
09-24-2006, 03:17 PM
My father in law is remodeling his bathroom. As part of the remodel he wants to install a new electrical box and wire the bathroom to it. As he remodels the house, he will add each room to the new box.

The question is he was told that he needs to ground the box in 2 places. To the ground and to a water pipe. All his water pipe is plastic except for the well casing (and it would be a serious effort to get to that).

Is it true he needs to ground it 2 places? And if so any other ideas on how or where to ground.

Thanks guys.

HWooldridge
09-24-2006, 08:03 PM
Nobody wants to answer this for the liability exposure...;-)

Get a licensed electrician to do it. I am not an electrician nor do I play one on TV but I assume the dual ground suggestion is for backup in case one fails.

cuemaker
09-24-2006, 08:16 PM
Well darn, I am not going to hold anybody's feet to the fire.....

LarryinLV
09-24-2006, 08:19 PM
Cue,

I suspect that your father has been given erroneous advice. By your statement one would presume he is planning to install a subpanel and feed this panel from the main panel. If this is the case, generally a subpanel would have the neutral and the ground separate, (not bonded), and those wires, plus line would go pack to the main panel where they would be properly bonded and grounded. You do not normally want another ground in the system. Since this is a bathroom the plumbing must be installed so it cannot become energized.

A separate structure from the main, such as a detached shop, would require it's own ground, perhaps two.

Bathrooms have a whole section pertaining to them for bonding, GFCI protection, and amp loading in the NEC.

He must check local codes and not rely on advice by non-qualified persons. If in doubt, consult a professional or ask the local building inspector.

Weston Bye
09-24-2006, 08:36 PM