PDA

View Full Version : Parker Cut 40 problems

akruck
09-25-2006, 08:33 AM
I am new to this BBS, but I have a question regarding the Parker MP Plasma cutter that is advertised in THE HOME SHOP MACHINIST. I purchased one of these machines back in April. It has been replaced twice, always for a different reason. The latest machine still does not cut as advertised. It will not cut 1/2 inch steel, let alone the 5/8 rated material that they advertise. Parker also claims it will severe 3/4 inch material. Parker will not refund my purchase, and I keep dumping more money into this bogus product. The hose on the torch lead was wrapped with fishing line to hold it onto the torch; it did not work. Is anyone else experiencing the level of frustration that I am with Parker Metal Working? I have to pay shipping on the warrantee exchanges. Good money after bad, and I have given up. Purchased a Miller 375 that does more than advertised. Lots of pictures post on the Hobart BBs.

wierdscience
09-25-2006, 08:54 AM
First Welcome aboard!

The Parker plasma I have no experience with,but I will say you made a good choice on the Miller 375,we have one at work and love it.

The only thing I can say to the Parker is,is it getting enough air? Or is it one of those that has it's own air supply built in?The ones that pump they're own air I find won't cut anything much thicker than 1/8" with any quality.I think they are intended for HVAC and auto body work and not so much the stuff we do.

akruck
09-25-2006, 11:24 AM
First Welcome aboard!

The Parker plasma I have no experience with,but I will say you made a good choice on the Miller 375,we have one at work and love it.

The only thing I can say to the Parker is,is it getting enough air? Or is it one of those that has it's own air supply built in?The ones that pump they're own air I find won't cut anything much thicker than 1/8" with any quality.I think they are intended for HVAC and auto body work and not so much the stuff we do.