PDA

View Full Version : Newbie needs advice with lathe

meincer
10-17-2006, 10:28 AM
I am very new with metal machining and need help with a very simple task that I can't seem to master. I want to make a collet to mount an 1/8" engraving bit into the 1/4" collet of my hand held high speed router.

Every time I try to drill a hole in the center of a 1/2" rod (using a center drill mounted in a drill chuck) it ends up be close to - BUT NOT EXACTLY - in the center of the rod. I need the resulting collet to have very little runout. What am I doing wrong? I am using an imported 7X12 lathe (I also have a mini mill, if that might help?).

I have even thought of drilling a hole, putting an exactly fitted rod into it, welding it on one end so it won't turn, and chucking this small rod into the lathe chuck to then turning down the bigger rod concentric to the small hole.

Is there a trick to getting a very accurate hole location?

dp
10-17-2006, 10:53 AM
You can drill the piece and then turn it between centers using a lathe dog. This will be only as accurate as your tail stock alignment, but that should be perfect :) The final hole should be sized and cleaned with a properly sized reamer.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Lathe_center

SGW
10-17-2006, 10:56 AM
Drilling (as you have found out) is at best an approximate way to get a hole where you want it.

You might try checking to see if your tailstock center is properly aligned with the headstock spindle; chuck a dial indicator in the headstock and (with power off, of course!) sweep the indicator around the inside of the tailstock socket. You may be able to improve things there, assuming the tailstock alignment is adjustable. That might help some.

Othewise, the sure way to get a hole where you want it is to bore it with a boring bar, but boring a fairly deep 1/8" dia. hole with a boring bar would be some trick.