PDA

View Full Version : Some observations on three jaw self-centering chuck accuracy.

gmm22
12-19-2006, 11:04 PM
I am new to lathes, but I have experience in trying to hold high tolerances in making things. I have made some interesting notes on my chucks for my new mini-lathe. No doubt most if not all of these are well known to experienced persons, but I have questions regarding the topic of accuracy.

1. There are nine permutations of mounting and tightening sequences with a three bolt mounting. One mounting orientation and one tightening sequence emerged as most accurate with much variation (.001" to .007" deviation).

2. The choice of which of the three chuck receptacles to use to tighten also had great effect on accuracy with as much as .006" difference from best to worst.

3. The best I have achieved in a consistently repeatable way is .0003" run out on 3/8" diameter stock.

My questions are:

(a) Is .0003" run out considered very good for three jaw independent chucks?

(b) What will most machinists accept as a deviation when using a four jaw independent chuck?

(c) I have set up work in the four jaw to get the same .0003" and I find the time taken to achieve that is probably the same or more than what it takes me to get it by tweaking the three jaw self-centering chuck, therefore, is there some secondary reason why I should be using a four jaw for very accurate work that I am not aware of?

I must confess a preference for the self-centering chuck. The tweaking is just as lengthy, but it is of a different nature than the four jaw independent chuck.

Any thoughts would be appreciated.

nheng
12-19-2006, 11:13 PM
I prefer the 3 jaw chuck, self centering especially, as it brings to the table most of what the 4 jaw offers but IMHO, with more precision for finer work without the hammering, shimming, etc.

Of course, for odd shaped or eccentric work, I reach for the 4 jaw in a heartbeat.