PDA

View Full Version : Parallels

lenord
12-27-2006, 08:54 PM
All,

Has anyone bought a set of 1/2 or 1/8" x 6" flat parallels lately that they measured to check their accuracy ?
Will you share the vendor/part numer ?

I am needing accuracy down to .0005".....thickness, length etc. The ones i have are not cutting it....

Thanks
Lenord

krems
12-27-2006, 10:24 PM
At risk of showing my ignorance what are parallel bars used for. I got a set w/ the lathe but I've never used them. They are cheap ones so not to be used in precision lathe work. Didn't mean to hijack the thread.

Krems

bob308
12-27-2006, 10:33 PM
parllels are use in a mill.

we made our own as part of our trining and we ground them closer then .0005

Fasttrack
12-27-2006, 11:01 PM
Krems - i'm new to this game too, but my understanding is that they are used in a milling machine vise to keep work off of the bottom of the vise. For example, today i cut some .515" slots in some 1/4" thick strap (2.25" by 1.25") for mounting a bike wheel on an HMV car. To hold the pieces in the vise and still cut the slot through the metal without also cutting a groove in the bottom of the vise or table, i used some very inaccurate parallels (read some pieces of 1/4" thick 1" wide strap :D ) to keep the work above the bottom of the table but still parallel to it.

Lenord - check Travers and JL industrial and, even, Enco. Most of them give specs for accuracy.

1/8" Thin style 10 pair Parallel Set carried through Enco
.0002 parallelism
Paired +/- .0004 in height
52-58 HRC

Brands: Enco Model Number
USA $112.27 505-1864
Fowler $184.37 422-184.37
Brown and Sharpe $ 199.83 637-7529

Brown and Sharpe 1/4" 9 Pair Pallel Set
.0002 parallelism
Nominal Abosolute heights, plastic case

Brown and Sharpe $211.95 - enco model number 601-1150

Enco 1/2" 8 pair parallel set
.0003" parallelism
paired +/- .0003 in height
Length +/- .006
Width .4921 +/- .0008
Woodcase - HRC 52-58

$159.80 Model Number 240-03262