PDA

View Full Version : Smithy 1340 - $2200 ????

torchroadster
01-02-2007, 10:13 AM
Saw an ad in the paper yesterday for a Smithy 1340 for $2200 - used of course, includes stand and tools. Haven't seen it yet, but wanted to solicit this board's opinions first. Here's a link to the machine on Smithy's site https://www.smithy.com/features.php?cid=1&pid=4

I've read the archive's on this and other boards about the limitations and drawbacks of the the 3 in 1 machines. The points are well taken the bottom line from what I've read is -

1. You can buy more capable individual used lathes and mills for the price of new 3 in 1's.
2. It can be tough to find used lathes and mills locally.
3. The 3 in 1's function OK as a lathe and not so well as a mill, they are especially limited working with steel. Main problems are lack of stiffness and chatter.
4. Changing over between lathe and mill is a pain.

I am a complete novice with mills and lathes, but have wanted to get started for a long time. I very much enjoy working with my brake, drill press and welder and know that I will continue that metal working enjoyment with a mill/lathe.

My questions are -
1. Could I hope to find a separate used mill and lathe in workable condition for $2200 total?
2. Is the Smithy 1340 OK for strictly a home hobbyist application, mostly small parts in aluminum, but occasionally steel as well.
3. Are the limitations of the 3 in 1 machines, mainly in accuracy and repeatability?
4. Space and price savings are both big priorities of mine, is a used 3 in 1 tool a good compromise solution?
5. If I purchased the 1340 and didn't like it, or wanted to upgrade, could I assume I could resell in a couple years for about the same price?

Thanks in advance for the advice!

Tim125
01-02-2007, 10:20 AM