PDA

View Full Version : Toolpost holder project

motomoron
01-14-2007, 09:40 PM
My new shop is finally finished (finished! ha!) so before I waded into the abyss of a backlog of work, I had a little "me" time. I made a nice sliding fence for the Walker-Turner bandsaw (Thanks, Nitearc) which with it's newly installed Carter ball bearing guides, some urethane tires properly crowned, and drive belt newer than the Coolidge sdministration , is cutting beautifully.

Then I addressed something which I've been working around for several years now. No matter how carefully I fit and adjust the gibs, the Smithy 1324 Granite is not a really rigid machine, and the bulk of the problem, near as I can tell is the compound rest. There are many turning operations where I don't need to use it, so I set to making a toolpost support block to take the place of the compound.

I had a 2' length of 4" mild steel bar; mystery metal, but it machines about like 1018, so I'll say that's what it is. I sawed a 3" chunk on with the horizontal bandsaw, faced and shouldered it, center drilled it and tapped it 1/2-20. I measured this part, and in SolidWorks modeled it and added the reliefs for the hold-downs.

I laid out the slots on the bottom, clamped it on it's side in the vise, and cut the slot with a 3/8" ball end mill. I hogged out the cavity with a rougher, and finished with the ball end. Flipped it and repeated the other side.

Whole thing took a couple hours. With the toolpost fitted it weighs about
15 pounds. Much, much more solid than the compound.

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v341/motomoron/DSC02912.jpg

IOWOLF
01-15-2007, 05:34 AM
Nice, But pretty tall,How heavy of a cut can you make?

kap pullen
01-15-2007, 06:08 AM
Yep,

That's a nice looking job!

I can see that you work "outside the box".

Did you machine it on the Smithy.

If so, they must not be as bad as some claim.

Kap

-----------------------------------

"A poor mechanic blames his tools."

motomoron
01-15-2007, 12:12 PM