PDA

View Full Version : Collet closer concentricity: I need some advice

seatlanta
01-17-2007, 11:44 AM
I'm almost ready make a collet closer for my new Grizzly 12x24 (G4002) lathe. I've received some good advice on this forum, and I've been researching articles and plans.

I plan on building the closer in the HSM (May/June 2000). I have purchased (from Grizzly) a 5c female-to-#5MT male adapter, so that's one part I don't have to manufacture.

Here's the question:
How important is concentricity between the closer rod and the collet? This is mentioned in the article:

. . . insure good axial alignment of critical parts so the collets are drawn perfectly straight back into the spindle to minimize conical wobble.
OK, I understand that, and I know that concentricity is important. But it seems to me that a slight amount of off-axis pulling would not keep the two cones from mating correctly (Please, no mating-cone jokes.).

I'm still a beginner, and this collet closer will be one of the more complex things I've attempted (Don't laugh--it's true.). I guess I need to know just how perfect my machining needs to be.

I'd appreciate your thoughts.

Thanks.
James (seatlanta)

Spin Doctor
01-17-2007, 12:05 PM