PDA

View Full Version : Need a rotary table tip.

Scotty M
01-17-2007, 10:59 PM
Hi, I'm new to using a rotary table and wanted to see if anyone had a good tip for the following. I have my table indicated in under the spindle and now need to center a small rectangular block. I need to mill a circular recess in this block and then add two milled slots at 45 degrees to the long axis of the block. I'm first stumped in getting the block centered in both axis, but then also in keeping one edge oriented so that I can start the two slots. I know this is done, but every time I get it indicated in in ane direction I lose it in another. Thanks for any advice.

mochinist
01-17-2007, 11:09 PM
If you have some scrap aluminum plate, or steel for that matter, you could clamp that to the top of you rotary table, set the table to 0deg's of course, lock it down and mill a small pocket that is a couple though over the size of your block, next just set your block in the pocket and use some clamps to hold it down and do what you need to do.

Nutter
01-17-2007, 11:10 PM
You'll want an Indicol style holder and a test indicator for this job. I'm not saying that it's impossible with a regular dial indicator, just that it's a lot easier with the right setup. A co-ax centering indicator combined with the test indicator and Indicol holder would make things go even faster.

Since your table is centered, you can start by drilling a hole in the center of the block. You are going to mill this away anyways. Then you can spin your test indicator with the spindle and measure the hole to see if it is centered (a co-ax indicator is also really nice for this). Leave the clamps part way tight so you can tap the block into position, then lock down and re-check. Turn your table 90 degrees and re-check if you aren't 100 positive you did it right, then turn it another 90 and re-check.