PDA

View Full Version : B/port power Y axis



GRH
01-19-2007, 10:59 AM
Has any of you guys put a power "Y" axis on a Bridgeport or one of it's copies
eg: Enco etc.

Regards
Graeme

rkepler
01-19-2007, 11:08 AM
Sure, pretty much the same as the X axis but you want to make sure that it doesn't interfere with the knee crank or lock.

YankeeMetallic
01-19-2007, 01:08 PM
I put a Y axis SERVO on my LAGUN FTV Mill. I did NOT have to mount it cocked 15 degrees like they say you have to. I just made a control handle so it is out of the way of the knee handle. Works like a champ!

Scishopguy
01-19-2007, 01:10 PM
Graeme

Yep, and put one on the knee as well. I don't know about the other brands but Servo units all mount the same way. They provide good instructions to work from and all you need is a drill motor (hand drill) and a hand full of wrenches and allen keys. You take the handle and dial off and there is a plate that you mount to the saddle that the unit attaches to. You put the dial and handle back and she's done. If you do any kind of production work or want extremely fine finishes this is the way to go. As for interference, the plate allows you to rotate the unit to either side.

GRH
01-19-2007, 10:26 PM
Thanks.

Graeme