PDA

View Full Version : Noise at higher RPM's with older Enco Varispeed Mill head

DeereGuy
01-19-2007, 02:11 PM
Hi everyone, I have the chance to pick up an older Enco Mill with a varispeed head. I can get it for $500.00. Everything seems in good condition except when I cranked the speed up over 3000 RPM's, at this point I can hear a noise that maybe caused by an old belt. The spindle turns smoothly by hand so I am hoping it's just the belt. The owner says it will last me a life time but I have no experience with this type of head. If it does need rebuilt do any of you have an idea of the cost involved in parts?

I am going to take pictures of it shortly here and will post them later.

TIA

Bob

chipmaker4130
01-19-2007, 02:21 PM
I'm not specifically familiar with the Enco drive, but if it uses a single belt between two variable diameter sheaves like my Burke, a worn belt makes an odd squeak which actually resembles a dry bearing. If convenient, get the belt number and compare the new width with the current width of the installed belt. A decrease in diameter of more than 1/16 inch is enough to make it noisy. Another test is to see if the spindle speed varies over the entire range of adjustment. If it stays the same on either the slow or high end, you likely have a worn-out belt.

pcarpenter
01-19-2007, 04:10 PM
Whatcha milling at 3k rpm? ;) The point about the belt is a potential issue and about a $80 solution if that is what is wrong. If it's like the BP, you can pull the top half cover of the VS head without too terrible much difficulty. I would look for grooves worn in the VS head sheaves...if so, the parts could be a bit pricey...if running that fast is important to you.