X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • wdtom
    • Jan 2003

Kasenit, any experience?

I just made a tool bit holder for my two lathes. It is a block of steel 3 1/2" by 2 1/2" by 1". I milled a slot along one of the long sides to take tool bits, space so the block will position the tool at the right height for one lathe, and turning the block over it will fit the other one. Now I am thinking it would be nice to have this a little tougher than the CRS I made it out of. And I have a few more of these blocks, may make more to fit other tools, and to be able to have more than one tool set up. Would Kasenit work for this application? Would the 1 lb. can MSC sells be enough for a project like this?
  • bspooh
    • Jan 2002

I have little experience with "Kasenite" but I do have a can of it and I have used it a few times with great success...its cheap, so give it a try...

brent

Comment

• spope14
      • Dec 2001

Yes, good stuff, and can give a .003 to .010 case if used right, and it really is hard to use wrong all said and done.

The can says soak the metal in a casenite bath. Heck to do, and this is hard, and requires quite a bit of special made gear. I just heat the metal to the temp of hot as hell, dip in the powder, heat again to hot as hell and let it soak in, dip again, heat again to hot as hell and let the powder soak in and such, maybe two to three times until the powder runs off or burns in. Rotate the part bottom down, then bottom up, kind of like cooking a pork loin on a fire with a good sauce..... Then a water quench (which is NOT good for a pork loin BTW), and a good grind.

leaves scale like crazy, but it comes off with a wire wheel.