PDA

View Full Version : Flutes

spkrman15
04-10-2003, 02:15 PM
Hey folks,

Can someone help with the difference between 2 or 4 flutes on end mills? Also is there speed and feed differences between them?

Thanks
Spkrman15

Al Messer
04-10-2003, 03:11 PM
I'm no expert, but I use 2 flutes for roughing, 4 flutes for finishing, and 3 flutes for slotting. Since all my milling is done in a lathe, I listen to the lathe tell me about speeds and feeds. Sorry I cannot be of more help.

darryl
04-10-2003, 04:48 PM
Basically, the more flutes, the less room for chips, but smoother cutting. It's a compromise. If you're doing deeper slots where chips can't escape as easily, use the 2 flute. If you're cutting a lip around the outside of a cover, for instance, use a 4 flute. An idea is to keep at least 2 cutting edges in contact with the material if possible, to reduce chatter. The cutting speed for each flute won't change with the change from 2 to 4 flute, but the depth of cut per tooth will, and so will the power req'd to turn the endmill, as will the deflection of the endmill increase. As stated above, pay attention to the sounds produced, and learn to judge feed accordingly. Sometimes it's a good idea to get an experineced machinist to work your machine, and give you guidelines based on his knowledge of sounds produced during machining. The limitations of your machine will show up in the noise and surface finish, and you'll get a better idea of how fast you can feed, and how deep of cuts you can take.

[This message has been edited by darryl (edited 04-10-2003).]

Rotate
04-10-2003, 05:23 PM
Same rpm for 2, 3, and 4 flute endmills (function of sfm and diameter). In principle the feedrate of 4 flute should be twice that of 2 flute, but in practice you can't go quite that fast (function of rigidity, hp of motor, rate of chip removal, helix angle, etc).

As other have noted, listen and feel the machine and it will tell you when to back off.