PDA

View Full Version : End Mill Holder for a Lathe

wrightracing.net
03-22-2007, 09:15 PM
This is my first post and I am new to Mils and Lathes.

I am a weld/fabricator of Off Road Race trucks and Buggys and I am trying to speed up the job of notching tubing for roll cages. Until now I have been grinding the notch or a hole saw was used.

I want to find a end mill holder that bolts to the mounting plate of a lathe.
I tryed to use a 3 jaw chuck to hold the end mill and it held for a little bit but the jaws can not hold the 1.24" shank well enough to notch tubing.

The Mill/Lathe I have is a Cetral Machinery combo with a 4.25" mounting plate and a 1.560 bore that threads onto the lathe.

One idea I have if I can't find a premade tool holder is to get some 4.25" bar stock and bore out the center to 1.25", Drill and tap a set screw and drill and tap mounting bolt holes on the back so it would mount to the Lathe mounting plate.

I would rather buy one already made but I just wanted to hear from people with experience in this area.

David Wright
http://www.wrightracing.net
rookie-wantabe mechinist

Fasttrack
03-22-2007, 09:39 PM
Any reason not to hold it in your mill?? You can get end mill holders, even MT3 endmill holders that will accept large shank endmills.

Otherwise, you could take a short piece of hexagon stock, say 2.25" in diameter and bore your hole for the endmill with a set screw. It would save you some time and hastle making the mounting holes and should be alot cheaper. The hexagon stock could be held in the three jaw and would not slip since it has three flat surfaces for the chuck to grab. Thats the quick and dirty...

Should be nice and easy; just cut you off a length of the stock, hold it in the chuck, face it, and bore a hole in it. Drill and tap your set screw and your done.

<edit>