PDA

View Full Version : Southbend Question

Vinland
03-27-2007, 08:25 PM
Hello everyone, my name is Darrin and I live near Syracuse Ny. I am VERY new to machining and have a question. I have been looking at buying my own lathe for use in my workshop for making shafts, etc for industrial applications as well as small parts for other things. Anyhow, At my day job I use an old Sebastian Lathe with about a 9 1/2-10" swing(?). I may be able to get this lathe for very cheap (about $200) but it has horrible backlash and the ways need fixed(I have no idea how to do this....surface grinding??). I also saw a brand new JET lathe with about an 8" swing for around $1000 which I am also considering. My question to all of you who are experienced is.....well....why do so many people prefer southbend?? Is it the American made thing or ease of use?? Or is it just more of a brand name thing? Thanks for any input. As I said Im real new to machining and would like to add on to my side business of welding plus I have found I like machining even more than welding....I can see this turning into a satisfying hobby...

Darrin

garyphansen
03-27-2007, 09:51 PM
South Bends are simple machines, simply to use, and simple to fix. If you keep them well oiled they last for three days less than forever. Many new parts are still available new from Le blond or Parts Works. There may have been more of them made than all other American made lathes. There are all kinds of use parts available on Ebay. Many Schools had South Bend lathes so many people were trained on them. With the right skill they can make anything that can be made on a lathe. Gary P. Hansen

Paul Alciatore
03-27-2007, 09:58 PM
I have a SB 9C with a short bed. I looked around for about a year or a bit longer. I was shopping on a short budget and I wanted something that was close enough for me to see it before I was totally committed to the purchase.