PDA

View Full Version : Gantry Crane Design Critique

dkaustin
04-11-2007, 06:54 PM
Came across this home-built gantry crane.

http://www.milwaukeeblimpworks.com/Gantry.html

It has some interesting features, but I am no structural engineer. Is this a good design, or is it a widow-maker?

What is your opinion, gentlemen?

bob_s
04-11-2007, 08:19 PM
Came across this home-built gantry crane.

http://www.milwaukeeblimpworks.com/Gantry.html

It has some interesting features, but I am no structural engineer. Is this a good design, or is it a widow-maker?

What is your opinion, gentlemen?

Based on the W4-13 I-beam data, with 1000 pound load in the middle of the 12 foot span, 13 pounds per foot for the beam load max stress should be 7500 psia.
Safety factor assuming nominal yield stress of 30000 psia is about 4.

speedsport
04-11-2007, 08:28 PM
I like it, when you are through with it please send to me, Thanks you.

bob_s
04-11-2007, 08:39 PM
Finally saw the cross headers, don't like the concentrated load on the jaws of the cross-member, there looks to be very little cross-sectioin holding onto the flange of the I-beam.
Better to have it supported from below, with the teeth on the cross-member preventing the rotation of the I-beam.

J Tiers
04-11-2007, 11:02 PM
I have to say I am not crazy-nuts about it.

The pipe columns are probably OK, but are minimally braced. They are probably susceptible to damage or bumps while loaded, which would cause a crash in the "right" conditions.

4" beam of any sort is edgy for 1000 lb. I did some calculations and table lookup for a similar fixed beam hoist. I decided that 5" was needed , and that was for a lesser span. But in my case I had a 3 foot cantilever, so that distorted my needs.

The beam may also need derating for twist.... I didn't calculate the span in flange widths.