PDA

View Full Version : What is a tesla turbine, and what exactly is it used for?

Tiffany Finks
11-21-2001, 08:59 AM
I am a recent graduate of Focus:HOPE Machinist Training Institute and a current student in their Pre-Engineering course and I want to make the Tesla Turbine featured in the september/october issue of the magazine. I want to know any other helpful tips that you might have to make my work easier and more understandable. Like I said, I'm basically entry-level and I can't understand the advance terminology used in the mag.

SGW
11-21-2001, 09:31 AM
What terminology is giving you trouble?

If you've never done any machining before, that turbine project may be a bit much to tackle as your first project. Still, the explanation of how to do it is pretty good and people have certainly built projects that by rights are way beyond their skill level, so if you want to do it, give it a try. Just be prepared for it to be really hard. When you succeed though, wow! Will you feel good!

Tesla was an inventor who was a pioneer in electrical distribution. There's a statue of him at Niagara Falls; my memory is hazy, but I think he designed/built one of the first power plants there. I think he was also an early advocate of AC power distribution, which brought him into violent conflict with Edison, who was a DC power man. Apparently, he also invented the particular turbine design that's being serialized in the magazine.

What would it be used for? Anything that can be driven by a steam turbine, I suppose. Given Tesla's background, I imagine he planned to drive electrical generators with it.

Lindsay Publications has a couple of reprints of books about Tesla's work.

old sass
11-21-2001, 10:26 PM