PDA

View Full Version : Problem using dovetail cutter

rotate
07-03-2007, 01:07 AM
This is my first attempt to use a dovetail cutter, and I have couple of questions.

1. I'm getting quite a bit of chattering, which leave chattering marks on the inside cut. I'm using conventional milling. The only way to get around this is to reduce the feedrate such that instead of making chips I'm making powder. Is this the nature of the cutter or is my setup (EMCO Compact 5) simply not rigid enough for this kind of operation?

2. HSS dovetail cutter was wickedly sharp but after cutting only two 2" length, it no longer has that razer sharp edge. It's still sharp, but I'm wondering if this is normal?

oldtiffie
07-03-2007, 01:25 AM
Deleted/edited-out

Peter N
07-03-2007, 04:45 AM
Copied from an old post last year:

I think that .002 - .005 per pass would be fine for a finishing cut. Depending on the rigidity of the machine & setup you can go a lot deeper. You need to use a slow speed and slow feed, and coolant helps.

The cut below was done in 3 passes. Material is mild steel and the cutter HSS. First and second cut about 0.100" deep then 0.010" on the finish cut. After the initial cut I dropped the table by 0.002" as these cutters can chatter when they cut on both the bottom and sides at the same time, then put it back after the finish cut for a clean-up pass. Coolant applied by hand with a squeezy bottle.
Also, don't climb mill with a dovetail cutter (except on a 0.002" finish pass maybe ) as they will *really* suck into the cut.:D

http://www.btinternet.com/~p.neill/Dovetail_Small.jpeg

Peter

lazlo
07-03-2007, 11:39 AM
I'd have possibly tried to rough it out using as solid a "woodruff" (key) cutter (preferably with "staggered" teeth) as possible or a single point fly-cutter.

Thats how I cut dovetails -- open the channel as much as possible with an endmill, and then notch out the undercut with a Woodruff cutter.