PDA

View Full Version : Earthing (grounding) of benches

Philip in China
07-04-2007, 12:02 PM
I have a small blacksmith and machine shop in central China. It has a large tin roof, several steel benches and several hundred kilos of steel stock, tools and anvils. Electrical safety is not the strong suit of the guys who make the power tools we use (welder, pillar drill etc.) and we are also in a region where we get a high level of electrical storms! Add to this the fact that school children will soon be using the facility and you can see why I am worried about the risk of electric shock. I am basically a blacksmith not an electrician so can anybody advise me please?

1. I propose to run a copper earth cable from each bench to a separate ground spike. The spike would be a length of rebar with a forged point driven into the ground. I would flatten the other end, punch an eye which I would tap to M10 and attach the earth strap to that.

2. Most of the tools have metal casings but few if any have an earth lead. I propose to earth these via the 3 core lead to the mains outlet.

3. I think a lightning conductor is an essential. Would anybody argue with that. I also think that that is a job for an expert.

4. My stick welder has a small terminal at the back with an earth symbol next to it. Should this have its own ground spike? It works fine without but I am happy to put one on if that would be safer.

5. I am about to fabricate a steel welding bench. Should this ideally have an earth strap or is the connection to the welder adequate?

Any help you could give to keep the students safe would be appreciated. Would too many really good earths risk attracting lightning??

Evan
07-04-2007, 12:10 PM