PDA

View Full Version : Points on a sphere

XLocksmith
07-07-2007, 08:14 AM
So i need to drill a large number of points on a sphere (~200). I have seen a machined aluminum soccer ball at my aluminum supplier, they told me it was done on a 5 axis CNC machine. My first question is what is a good technique for holding a sphere while machining it on a mill?

Second, if it is possible to do this without a 5 axis machine how do you go about marking up the sphere. I currently have an program (I am a software engineer in the daytime) that generates even(ish) points on a sphere and as such i have all the desired locations in x,y,z format. I was thinking perhaps buying a tilting table for the mill and attaching a dividing head this would allow me to mark it up..... but if i purchase those i might as well just get the mill to do everything. I really dont need highly accurate tolerances if there is a way to transpose the given coordinates onto my sphere using a drill press would be acceptable. Is there another way to manually mark it up? Perhaps this is a common machining task?

Evan
07-07-2007, 09:06 AM
My first question is what is a good technique for holding a sphere while machining it on a mill?
Are you starting out with a sphere or just a chunk of metal?

I currently have an program (I am a software engineer in the daytime) that generates even(ish) points on a sphere
"even(ish)"?? Spherical trig is as accurate as any other branch of mathematics that deals with transcendental numbers. Is this program using some sort of rough approximations instead?

i have all the desired locations in x,y,z format
That isn't sufficient. To deal properly with the entire surface you need to use polar coordinates. Also, to completely define the location AND direction of a point in space, in this case a drill bit about to make a hole, requires six values in cartesian coordinates. Three for location and three for vector (direction).