PDA

View Full Version : shaper model???

laddy
07-07-2007, 08:02 PM
Hey,
Has any one built the small shaper model available on ebay?? I purchased one but can't figure out how to hold some of the parts to machine them ( I am only a hobbyist). The castings look nice and I have started but ran aground on the ram. Ideas welcome! Fred

SGW
07-07-2007, 09:33 PM
Don't disparage hobbyists! Lew Blackmore of Australia was "only" a hobbyist and he built the quarter-scale 9-cylinder Bentley BR2 rotary airplane engine model, starting from not much of any information at all. Other hobbyists have done equally spectacular things. So...don't sell your potential as a hobbyist short.

But, as for workholding...that's frequently the challenge of making a part. How do you hold the thing while you machine it. Every piece is different, so there is no single answer, just general methods to assist your ingenuity. Sometimes you can drill/tap a couple of holes where they won't show in the finished part, so you can attach the part to something you can hold onto. If you're making something from barstock, it often helps to have a piece larger than you need to give yourself a handle to hang onto, and the final or near-final step is cutting off the finished part.

Castings can be a special problem because the draft on the pattern often means there are no parallel sides for gripping. Sometimes you can carve recesses in wood blocks that are "close enough" to the casting contour to grip the piece, and you can then hold the blocks. Or maybe you can file an approximately flat reference surface that sit without wobbling while you do initial machining. Hard to say without seeing the particular part. Can you post a picture?

heavysteamer
07-07-2007, 10:21 PM
Hey,