PDA

View Full Version : Good alternative to steel?

jgourlay
07-08-2007, 10:34 AM
Gents, I'm a real newbie to metalworking on the lathe, but I have done a fair bit of woodworking on it. My son (6) has an interest in watching me work on the lathe as I teach myself the metal part.

My *primary* interest in getting into the metal side of lathe work is as an adjunct to our homeschool program. I want my kids to actually understand how one goes from idea to reality, and how math, logic, and effort go into that equation. My 6 year old, obviously, has the attention span of gnat. So, its important that I hold his interest by making interest projects fast. By "interesting", simple machines will do: threaded rods and nuts, "little kid blowing through a plastic tube" powered "steam" engines, etc.

Steel, however, while relatively cheap and very durable, is a 'slow' material. I'm wondering if there is a good alternative to steel from the perspective of still being cheap enough for a learning material, but much faster to cut, that cuts using basically the same process of metal (this lets wood out), and is available in round or square stock suitable for turning? Of course I don't expect it to be all that durable: if a device works 2 or 3 times then breaks, that's fine. If it breaks and he gets all upset, I'll use that motivation to build another from steel or brass or something.

lazlo
07-08-2007, 10:58 AM
Aluminum machines like butter, and it's usually around $2/lb at your local dump.

SGW
07-08-2007, 11:02 AM
Delrin (acetal) plastic is really easy to machine and pretty durable. It's not exactly "cheap," but maybe you don't need a large quantity, anyway.

Aluminum might be a possibility, but you have to pay attention to what alloy you get. Some of the softer alloys are very gummy to machine, and no joy at all. There are free-machining alloys that are really nice to machine though, and the ubiquitous 6061 is not too bad.

Check out the metals section of www.mcmaster.com

lazlo