PDA

View Full Version : how many people on this site are actually machinists for a living?

MR.0001"
07-15-2007, 04:19 PM
I'm a 4th year apprentice and work for national oilwell

tattoomike68
07-15-2007, 04:23 PM
I made my living as a job shop machinist for about 11 years till I screwed up my back.

Now I just tinker in my shop at home.

Evan
07-15-2007, 04:24 PM
I'm retired. I once worked in all aspects of aircraft metal work for about 4 years after training in the army.

banjoallen
07-15-2007, 04:25 PM
I am. 31 years.
http://millermachinetool.com/ Been there 18 years. Allen

lazlo
07-15-2007, 04:39 PM
I'm retired. I once worked in all aspects of aircraft metal work for about 4 years after training in the army.

Evan, this comment seems to contradict something you wrote last year. Were you ever formerly trained as a machinist?

I am not a machinist, it's an avocation, not a vocation. I have never been employed as a machinist, only as a airframe mechanic and welder/fitter (plus at least 50 other jobs over the years that have had little or nothing to do with metal work).

http://bbs.homeshopmachinist.net/showpost.php?p=175994&postcount=69

Just curious...

IOWOLF
07-15-2007, 04:53 PM
I also make a meager living as a machinist.
Among other things.

Evan
07-15-2007, 04:59 PM
Evan, this comment seems to contradict something you wrote last year. Were you ever formerly trained as a machinist?

No. I have done nearly everything there is to do in metalwork for a living that doesn't involve lathes, milling machines or foundry work. I have never claimed to be a machinist.

Rustybolt
07-15-2007, 05:13 PM
I do. I also design some of the machines I make.

Tin Falcon
07-15-2007, 05:25 PM
I was trained by the US Air Force as a machinist as well as aircraft structural repair. I have worked professionally as a machinist also in a model shop weld shop as well as aircraft repair.
Tin

dicks42000
07-15-2007, 05:31 PM