PDA

View Full Version : Kasenit propblem

dewat
07-16-2007, 04:36 PM
I've been using the same can of Kasenit for a couple of years now, at first I had good results but lately even after 3 or 4 applications the surface is still soft.

1. heat to orange hot
2. roll the part in Kasenit till well coated reheat to orange
3. repeat 1 & 2
4. when orange hot again immediately quench in 5gal bucket of cool water

So I'm wondering if the Kasenit has gone bad (if it can) or am I over heating the part and burning off the carbon ? It seems to me I'm using the same process I've had good results with before.

Thanks, dewat

Evan
07-16-2007, 04:49 PM
Kasenit is sodium ferrocyanide salt. It can't go bad. It can however be "used up" in the process as the carbon and nitrogen is released when the sodium ferrocyanide breaks down. Once it breaks down it doesn't reconstitute itself. What you return to the can is partly original chemical and partly reacted scale. Time for some fresh Kasenit.

FYI, case hardening with Kasenit isn't just carburizing, treating with carbon. It is carbonitriding as the chemical contains both carbon and nitrogen that is released when heated.

rotate
07-16-2007, 05:24 PM
Don't mean to hijack the thread, but does anyone know where to get this stuff in Canada? I've asked around few suppliers and they all say they don't carry it.

Evan
07-16-2007, 05:32 PM
Ask for Quickhard instead. Same thing and I was able to get it locally. No, it isn't blue.

dewat
07-16-2007, 09:42 PM
Thanks for the reply Evan, but I don't return any to the can, everything that drips off is in a puddle on the firebricks, the instructions say to heat to a bright red so my only other option is to not let it get so hot.... I guess :D .

rkepler
07-16-2007, 09:49 PM