PDA

View Full Version : OT maybe, telescope mirrors.

kendall
09-08-2007, 09:01 PM
I remember reading a few posts by telescope makers here, and was hoping I could get some information.

Have an old telescope, not a good one by any standards, but functional for what little I use it, other day I noticed that the mirror was getting cloudy and on inspection found that the silvering was starting to lift in sections.

can anyone recommend a resilvering service that's not too expensive with a fairly quick turn-around?

Thanks
Ken.

nheng
09-08-2007, 09:06 PM
This will make the topic no longer OT :D :D

http://www.clausing.com/

I have no personal experience with them but have seen them mentioned in astro forums. Den

Your Old Dog
09-09-2007, 09:57 AM
Ken,
You got me nervous. Get the impression you don't use it a whole lot but need quick turn-around on a repair. You know something we don't??? :D Did you notice anything heading our way that we should prepare for?

rockrat
09-09-2007, 10:19 AM
I, at one time, helped out at the Perkins Observatory in Delaware Ohio. I know, an observatroy in Ohio is almost usless. But we do get a few good nights around here.

Anyhow, we had the 32" mirror here done at Calusing. The mirror was driven up, dropped off, and picked up the next day after the driver had some sleep. Thats almost "done while you wait".

They did a great job on it as well.

www.perkins-observatory.org

kendall
09-09-2007, 12:41 PM
Thanks Den, YOD, and Rockrat,

sent an email to clausing today hope to hear something soon.

Don't know anything, I just get impatient when I have to ship things!

Plus it's one of those things that will otherwise get thrown to the back of the stack and forgotten about for a while if I don't get on it fairly quick.

Perkins observatory has a pretty interesting site there.

Thanks again
Ken.

Your Old Dog
09-09-2007, 01:03 PM